Three members of the Academy awarded the Nobel Prize

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters congratulates Edvard & May-Britt Moser and John O'Keefe with the 2014 Nobel Nobel Prize in Medicine. They have been awarded the prize "for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning  system in the brain". John O Keefe was earlier this year awarded The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience.

May-Britt and Edvard Moser leads The Kavli Institute for Systems Neuroscience at NTNU in Trondheim. They have collaborated with John O'Keefe on several occasions and they also met in Trondheim in connection with the Kavli Prize events in Trondheim in September. John O'Keefe is currently director of the Sainsbury Wellcome Centre in Neural Circuits and Behaviour at University College London. He was awareded the 2014 Kavli Prize in Neuroscience for the discovery of specialized brain networks for memory and cognition" together with Brenda Milner and Marcus E. Raichle

-  It is the first time the Nobel Prize in Medicine goes to Norway, and it is not surprising that it is awarded to May-Britt and Edvard Moser, says NTNU Rector Gunnar Bovim.

John 0`Keefe and May-Britt and Edvard Moser. Photo: Geir Mogen, NTNU, Eirik Furu BaardsenJohn 0`Keefe and May-Britt and Edvard Moser. Photo: Geir Mogen, NTNU, Eirik Furu Baardsen

From the press release:
The discoveries of John O´Keefe, May-Britt Moser and Edvard Moser have solved a problem that has occupied philosophers and scientists for centuries - how does the brain create a map of the space surrounding us and how can we navigate our way through a complex environment?

Read press release and citation here

Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: post@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: post@dnva.no
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS