Abel celebration in Oslo and Bergen

When the Abel laureates John F. Nash Jr. and Louis Nirenberg arrive in Oslo they can look forward to a week of mathematical celebrations in Oslo and Bergen. The highlight will be when they receive the Abel Prize from H.M. the King at the award ceremony on the 19th of May in the University Aula in Oslo. Earlier the same day they will be received in audience at the Royal Palace. The Abel Banquet at Akershus Castle will be hosted by Torbjørn Røe Isaksen, Minister of Education and Research.

Photo: Eirik Furu BaardsenPhoto: Eirik Furu Baardsen

The Abel fanfare, composed by Klaus Sandvik, will be played as the procession with the laureates enters the University Aula. They will be accompanied by members of the Abel committee, the chair of the Abel board and the president of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. H.M. the King enters the Aula escorted by Ole Petter Ottersen, rector at the University of Oslo, and Øivind Andersen, secretary general of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

Kirsti Strøm Bull, president of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, will give the opening speech. Then the chair of the Abel Committee, John Rognes, will give the reasons for the awarding of the 2015 Abel Prize to John F. Nash Jr. and Louis Nirenberg. John Rognes will then ask H.M. the King to come forward to present the Abel Prize to the laureates. The laureates will share the 6 mill NOK (about EUR 700,000 or USD 750,000) prize money.

The vocal group Pitsj will give us the musical entertainment. Pitsj consists of five strong voices that together create vocal music in a landscape between jazz, pop and folk music. Pitsj consists of Anja Eline Skybakmoen, Anine Kruse Skatrud, Benedikte Kruse, Ida Roggen and Ane Carmen Roggen. Photo: Lise Falch Gulbrandsen

The Abel Prize Award ceremony will be followed by a reception at Det Norske Teatret. During the reception the laureates will be interviewed by Vivienne Parry, a science journalist and author currently employed as Head of Engagement at Genomics England. Parry is perhaps best known for presenting BBC TV science programs Tomorrow's World and Panorama.


Photo: NTB Scanpix

The Abel Laureates will honour Niels Henrik Abel by laying down a wreath at the Abel Monument in Oslo n 18 May. Kristian Ranestad, chair of the Abel board, will give a speech. In the evening the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters will host a dinner in honour of the Abel laureate. Among the invited guests will be members of the Abel committee and the Abel board, members of the Academy's mathematics group and visiting mathematicians from many countries.


Abel lectures

Frank Morgan, Atwell Professor of Mathematics at Williams College, will give this year's Science Lecture titled "Soap Bubbles and Mathematics" at the University of Oslo on May 20th.

The Science Lecture is one of three lectures given at the University of Oslo in connection with the Abel Prize week. The two other lecturers are Camillo De Lellis, University of Zürich and Tristan Rivière, ETH Zürich. There will also be speeches by the Abel laureates John F. Nash, Jr., Princeton University and Louis Nirenberg, Courant Institute, New York University.

On 21 May John F. Nash Jr. and Louis Nirenberg will travel to Bergen where they will meet schoolchildren at a math circus and attend lectures at the University of Bergen. 


Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: post@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: post@dnva.no
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS