Science advisory board with the Governor of California at The Academy

Dialogue between politicians and academia is important to tackle climate change, but why is this so? How can we improve the conversation, and what is the current status on what we know and what we don’t? These are some of the questions that will be discussed when leading politicians and scientists meet at The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in November. Among the participants are the Governor of California Jerry Brown, the Minister of Climate and Environment Vidar Helgesen and Head of the Committee for Climate, Environment and Resource Use Nils Chr. Stenseth.

(06.11.2017) More

Summit Meeting in the Academy

Governor Brown takes the report to UNs Climate Change Conference in Bonn

Jerry Brown

Scientists from leading international academies met for the first time with politicians to help spur climate action by governments, business leaders and the public at large. This is seen in the light of the existential threat of climate change, including dangerous losses of plants and animal life. 

(10.11.2017) More

Kristian Birkeland and the Slow Dawn of Space Weather Understanding

Birkeland Lecture by David Southwood

Kristian Birkeland

Professor David Southwood from Imperial College, London gives the Birkeland Lecture at the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo on 15 June at 6 pm. In 2017, the legacy of the physicist Kristian Birkeland still stands solid - 150 years after his birth and 100 years after his death. This lecture is one of many events during the Birkeland Anniversary 2017 that will take place 13-16th of June.

(29.05.2017) More

Yves Meyer received the Abel Prize from H.M. King Harald

Yves Meyer receives the 2017 Abel Prize from His Majesty King Harald

H.M. King Harald presented the Abel Prize to Yves Meyer of the École normale supérieure Paris-Saclay, France at an award ceremony in Oslo on 23 May. He receives the prize for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets, says John Rognes, chair of the Abel committee. Among the prominent guests attending the award  ceremony was the French ambassador to Norway, Jean-François Dobelle and the Norwegian Minister of Education and Research, Torbjørn Røe Isaksen.

(26.05.2017) More

Three days of celebration for Abel Laureate Yves Meyer

Abelprisutdeling i Aulaen 2016

His Majesty King Harald will present the Abel Prize to Yves Meyer at an award ceremony in Oslo on 23 May. He receives the prize "for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets", to quote the Abel committee. Yves Meyer, of the École  normale supérieure Paris-Saclay, was the visionary leader in the modern development of this theory, at the intersection of mathematics, information technology and computational science.

(12.05.2017) More


<December 2017>
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Forthcoming events

31 January 2018 at 09:00 - 31 January 2018 at 19:00

International Polar Ocean Day

Scientific conferences

Location: The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Drammensveien 78, Oslo.

With the sea ice retreat the gateway to the high Arctic and the Polar Ocean is opening up. New opportunities appear which need to be met both in science, politics and through international collaboration.

Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: post@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: post@dnva.no
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS