The Abel Prize

The Abel Prize carries a cash award of NOK 6 million (about EUR 800,000), is awarded annually by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

The Abel Prize is an international prize for outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physics, probability, numerical analysis and scientific computing, statistics, and also applications of mathematics in the sciences.

The prize recognizes contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to the mathematical sciences. Such work may have resolved fundamental problems, created powerful new techniques, introduced unifying principles or opened up major new fields of research. The intent is to award prizes over the course of time in a broad range of fields within the mathematical sciences.

In addition to honoring outstanding mathematicians, the Abel Prize shall contribute towards raising the status of mathematics in society and stimulating the interest of children and young people in mathematics. 

John F. Nash Jr. and Louis Nirenberg received the 2015 Abel Prize from His Majesty King Harald V at the award ceremony in Oslo on 19 May. Photo: Berit Roald/NTB Scanpix

The Abel Prize Laureates 2003 - 2015

2003: Jean-Pierre Serre,Collège de France, Paris, “for playing a key role in shaping the modern form of many parts of mathematics, including topology, algebraic geometry and number theory”

2004: Sir Michael Francis Atiyah, University of Edinburgh and Isadore M. Singer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology  “for their discovery and proof of the index theorem, bringing together topology, geometry and analysis, and their outstanding role in building new bridges between mathematics and theoretical physics”

2005: Peter D. Lax, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University  “for his groundbreaking contributions to the theory and application of partial differential equations and to the computation of their solutions”

2006: Lennart Carleson, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden “for his profound and seminal contributions to harmonic analysis and the theory of smooth dynamical systems”

2007: Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York "for his fundamental contributions to probability theory and in particular for creating a unified theory of large deviations"

2008: John Griggs Thompson, Graduate Research Professor, University of Florida and Jacques Tits, Professor Emeritus, Collège de France
"for their profound achievements in algebra and in particular for shaping modern group theory"

2009: Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov, Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, Bures-sur-Yvette, France "for his revolutionary contributions to geometry" 

2010: John Torrence Tate,University of Texas at Austin "for his vast and lasting impact on the theory of numbers"

2011: John Milnor, Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Stony Brook University, New York "for pioneering discoveries in topology, geometry and algebra"

2012: Endre Szemerédi, Alfréd Rényi Institute of Mathematics, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest "for his fundamental contributions to discrete mathematics and theoretical computer science, and in recognition of the profound and lasting impact of these contributions on additive number theory and ergodic theory"

2013: Pierre Deligne, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey, USA "for seminal contributions to algebraic geometry and for their transformative impact on number theory, representation theory, and related fields"

2014: Yakov G. Sinai, Princeton University, USA, and Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences "for his fundamental contributions to dynamical systems, ergodic theory, and mathematical physics"

2015: John F. Nash Jr., Princeton University, USA, and Louis Nirenberg, Courant Institute, New York University, USA, "for striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis."



Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: post@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: post@dnva.no
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS