Yves Meyer receives the Abel Prize

The Abel Prize Laureate 2017 Yves Meyer

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2017 to Yves Meyer (77) of the École normale supérieure Paris-Saclay, France “for his pivotal role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets”. The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Ole M. Sejersted, announced the winner of the 2017 Abel Prize at the Academy in Oslo today, 21 March.

Yves Meyer was the visionary leader in the modern development of this theory, at the intersection of mathematics, information technology and computational science. 

Wavelet analysis has been applied in a wide variety of arenas as diverse as applied and computational harmonic analysis, data compression, noise reduction, medical imaging, archiving, digital cinema, deconvolution of the Hubble space telescope images, and the recent LIGO detection of gravitational waves created by the collision of two black holes.

Yves Meyer will receive the Abel Prize from His Majesty King Harald V at an award ceremony in Oslo on 23 May.

The Abel Prize recognizes contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to the mathematical sciences and has been awarded annually since 2003. It carries a cash award of 6 million NOK (about 675,000 Euro or 715,000 USD). 

(21.03.2017) More

Congratulations from AMS President

AMS President Kenneth A. Ribet

"On behalf of the American Mathematical Society, it is my great pleasure to congratulate Professor Yves Meyer, recipient of the 2017 Abel Prize.  Professor Meyer has been a visionary in a broad range of fields, including number theory and differential equations.  His fundamental work in the theory of wavelets has transformed the world of signal processing and has led to a myriad of practical applications."  -- AMS President Kenneth A. Ribet (University of California, Berkeley)
Photo: Jim Brook


(02.04.2017) More

Abel Prize announcement March 21

Popular science presentation by Terence Tao

The Abel Prize has got a "new look". Design by Henrik Haugan. Illegal

The President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Ole M. Sejersted, will announce the winner of the Abel Prize for 2017 at the Academy on the 21st of March. The Academy's choice of laureate is based on the Abel Committee's recommendation. The chair of the Abel Committee, John Rognes, will give the reasons for the awarding of the prize. The world famous mathematician Terence Tao will give the popular science presentation of the prize winner's work.

(09.03.2017) More

Genome editing - the start of a new era?

Emmanuelle Charpentier

The new CRISPR-Cas9 technology, which was selected as the breakthrough of the year in 2015 by Science, allows introduction of changes in the genome without the addition of foreign genetic material. The applications are manifold, in medicine, and in the bio-sciences. Emmanuelle Charpentier, one of the discoverers of the technology, speaks at this open meeting, along with Ragnhild Eskeland and Olav Gjelsvik.

(13.01.2017) More

"Abel in Barcelona" with lecture by Louis Nirenberg

Louis Nirenberg, Abel Laureate 2015

Institut d'Estudis Catalans will host the Abel in Barcelona-event on Monday the 16th of January. In connection with the final meeting of the Abel committee, whose task it is to select the Abel Prize Laureate for 2017, there will be an afternoon of lectures aimed at a broad mathematical audience. Louis Nirenberg, who shared the Abel Prize 2015 with John Nash, will give the first lecture. There will also be lectures by two of the Abel committee members, Luigi Ambrosio and Ben Green.

(04.01.2017) More


<April 2017>
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Forthcoming events

27 April 2017 at 18:00 - 27 April 2017 at 20:00

Mitigation of Climate Change


Location: Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi, Drammensveien 78

23 May 2017 at 14:00

Abel Prize Award Ceremony

Location: University Aula, Oslo, Norway

The Abel Laureate will receive the Abel Prize at an award ceremony in the University Aula in Oslo, Norway. The ceremony will be followed by a reception and an interview with the Abel Laureate in front of a live audience at a nearby theatre, Det Norske Teatret.

24 May 2017 at 10:00 - 24 May 2017 at 15:30

The Abel Lectures 2017

Location: Georg Sverdrups Hus, University of Oslo

The Abel Laureate will give his prize lecture at the University of Oslo followed by two Abel Lectures, usually on topics related to the prize winner's work. For some years now a popular science lecture has also been part of the program.

15 June 2017 at 18:30

The Birkeland Lecture 2017


Location: Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Oslo

Professor David Southwood, former director of European Space Agency (ESA) will give this year's Birkeland Lecture.

Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: post@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: post@dnva.no
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS