Abel in Holland

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and Leiden University present Abel in Holland: mathematical lectures by the members of the 2011 Abel Prize Committee (picture), intended for a general mathematical audience. The lectures will take place in the De Sitterzaal of the Oort building at Leiden University on the 24th of February.


10.45 - 11.15 Welcome (coffee and tea)

11.15 - 11.30 Opening
Øyvind Østerud, President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Paul van der Heijden, rector of Leiden University

11.30 - 12.15 Ragni Piene (University of Oslo)
Generating functions and enumerative geometry

12.15 - 13.15 Lunch

13.15 - 14.00 Hendrik Lenstra (Leiden University)
Modelling finite fields

14.00 - 14.45 Björn Engquist (University of Texas)
Numerical approximation of high frequency wave propagation

14.45 - 15.15 Coffee and tea

15.15 - 16.00 M. S. Raghunathan (Tata Institute)
On the first Betti number of hyperbolic 3-manifolds

16.00 - 16.45 David Donoho (Stanford)
Compressed Sensing and Combinatorial

Members of the Abel Committee:
Hendrik W Lenstra, Bjørn Engquist, Ragni Piene, M.S. Raghunathan and David Donoho. (Photo: Eirik Furu Baardsen)

The Abel Prize is awarded annually by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, on the recommendation of the Abel Committee. It is financed by the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund, which was established in 2002 by the Norwegian Parliament.


Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
E-post: post@dnva.no
Nettredaktør: Anne-Marie Astad
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
E-mail: post@dnva.no
Web editor: Anne-Marie Astad
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS